A history of change
From its beginnings in 1761, G&J Greenall’s business has built its success on tradition and heritage.
When Thomas Dakin opened the Bridge Street distillery, production and distribution were basic, with gin sold in bulk jars to publicans and wholesalers. Over the years the business grew and adapted to changing market demands, creating a reputation early for superior quality.
The current G&J Greenall company name was established when in 1860, following Dakin’s death, the distillery was leased to Edward Greenall. The ‘G’ and ‘J’ of the current company name was evolved from the initials of Edward Greenall’s younger brothers — Gilbert and John.
In November 1923 Gilbert and John Greenall was purchased by the brewing business Greenall Whitley. In 1960, the distillery was moved to Loushers Lane in time for the company’s bicentenary. The company prospered in the subsequent decades, with Greenall’s Original Gin and the introduction of Vladivar Vodka helping establish the company as an international producer of premium brands.
A devastating blow to the business was the catastrophic fire of 2005, which destroyed the production facilities. However, within just six days the distillery was back in production, an amazing testament to the skill and dedication of G&J Greenall’s staff.